Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Resources and criticism of classical and contemporary literature from around the world.
Book Review Digest Plus
Find reviews of popular fiction and nonfiction books from newspapers, magazines, and journals.
Essay and General Literature Index
Discover essays on your topic in collections and miscellaneous works published in the United States, Great Britain, and Canada. This database provides citations for sources that are otherwise hard to find.
Gale Literary Databases
Information on the lives and writings of more than 120,000 authors, along with critical reactions to their works.
Literary Reference Center
Find author biographies, plot summaries and overviews, full-text essays, literary reference books and monographs, full text for literary magazines and journals, book reviews, poems, short stories, classic texts, author interviews, and much more.
Academic Search Complete
Find articles from newspapers, magazines, and scholarly journals on just about any subject. A good place to look when you’re not sure where to start.
Find articles on all subjects from magazines, journals, newspapers, and reference books, as well as images, maps, audio and video clips, TV and radio news transcripts, and educator-approved websites. Special modules for history and literature. All reading levels.
Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints
Find a variety of perspectives on current event issues and controversies in the news, providing facts as well as pros and cons. Includes e-books, magazine articles, newspaper articles, multimedia, charts, graphs, and images.
Humanities Full Text
Find scholarly articles encompassing all key fields of the humanities, covering topics including archaeology, art, classical studies, dance, film, journalism, linguistics, performing arts, philosophy and religion and more.
JSTOR Essential Collection
JSTOR essential arts & sciences archive of more than 1,000 scholarly journals and other content.
View documentaries, education and training films, and popular theatrical releases across diverse subjects and disciplines. Bookmark, link, embed and share full videos as well as custom clips and playlists. All videos are fully ADA compliant.
Points of View
Find current controversial topics, each with an overview, point (argument), counterpoint (Opposing argument), and Critical Thinking Guide. Contains full-text academic journal, newspaper and magazine articles, primary source documents, images and videos.
Find newspaper and magazine articles on current events and social issues. SIRS provides overviews with images, maps, statistics, and opposing viewpoints.
Reference & Background Information Databases
Biography Reference Bank
Learn about the lives of notable people through articles from magazines, journals, and reference works.
Credo Reference provides full-text online versions of many published reference works in every major subject. Credo Reference is a perfect starting point for students and researchers who are writing topic papers or just doing research.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Begin your research with reliable overviews from authoritative subject encyclopedias. Dependable information, citable sources.
A citation builder for creating MLA, APA, or Chicago style citations. Includes a fully integrated note-taking component. Entries can be saved and exported to a Word document.
A reference management tool for creating and managing MLA, APA, and other style citations supporting student and faculty research. Fully integrated with the library search engine.
Tips for Searching Databases
English/Composition Online Journals
These are some important journals related to composition and rhetoric. These journals are available in full text online through the Dallas College Libraries.
Find More Online Journals
Find additional resources by searching the Library's online journal collections:
Index of many scholarly publications. Does not provide free full-text access for all articles.